Why This Blog

It is with great reluctance that I am starting this blog and with little expectation from it.  I am writing this only because a man I respect told me I ought to do so.  That was a little over a year ago and finally I think I may be ready to write.  Or not.  With that powerful introduction aside, allow me to explain myself.

My name is Matthew Henry and I am not named after the famous guy, my dad just liked the sound of it.  I am a pastor.   But not like I envisioned.  My journey to where I am now has been a long one, filled with a lot of questions, and a lot of ridicule from both friends and foes alike.  I am one of those people who is stupid enough to ask questions that are not supposed to be asked.  Not that they are deep questions, or necessarily good questions.  They are just questions about things such as theology, practices and reality that seemed to be already answered but of which I am not yet convinced.  Things like how the Canon came about or what is the primary purpose of Romans?  One of those questions that I began to ask a several years ago is what the Church is supposed to look like and how is it to function.  And as I pursued answers to that question, stuff happened.  Big stuff.  Scary stuff.  The kind of stuff that makes you stay up at night and get your stomach all twisted up inside.

So off I went on this journey, all the while pastoring my little SBC church in Kenosha, Wisconsin and raising a family of three girls and a boy with my faithful wife.  Clueless is a word that comes to mind when I think of the beginning of that journey but that did not deter me.  The title of this blog is on purpose.  To meander means ‘to wind or turn in a course or to move in a leisurely way.”  And that captures me well.  Until it was time to press for serious changes in my church, I meandered down the course of change turning this way and that, occasionally finding cul-de-sacs and ugly dead ends, and other times scary, narrow paths that made me a bit worried.  So my goal is simply to begin to chronicle my meandering journey on becoming more missional in my approach to “doing” (maybe “being the” is a better term) church.

Somehow this man, born into the Plymouth Brethren branch of Christendom, raised in the conservative Bible Church world, tossed into the strange realm of the Southern Baptist Convention in the North, found himself using terms like becoming missional and learning to be outward facing and gospel-focused.  So that is why I am writing this blog.  We will see what happens

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on February 21, 2009, in Church, Missional, My Story and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Glad you got on the blog, brother. It’s a good way to flesh out ideas and connect with others. I’m looking forward to what you share.

    • Well, you may regret that after a while but I do hope it will be a means to connect and bounce ideas over time. But regardless, thanks for being my first comment!

Leave a Reply

