A Time to Rest

***UPDATE Not sure why this did not stay posted (for my two readers) but apparently it didn’t.  I am half way through this sabbatical, but shall return–Lord willing.****

This whole blog is designed to draw out a road map of how I became aware of the missional movement and how it affected me and my church in very practical ways.  The greatest effect is something I have not yet been able to write about, the replanting of my church.  This was something I did a little over year ago and God has done many good and wonderful things in our congregation.  But it was not without many challenges and effort.

Along with this there has been the normal challenges of ‘life.’  I had the joy of marrying one of my daughters off to a fine young man.  My wife’s father died after a long fight with many illnesses and now she is caring for her mother.  All of this is often done by her traveling to Maryland.  After the replant I ended up with a couple of hospitalizations, the development of diabetes, and a level of exhaustion that has settled upon me like a cloying, wet towel.

By God’s grace the elders of my church has decided I must take a sabbatical for at least a month to rest.  This came as a surprise to me but it was with much thanksgiving that this was given to me.  That sabbatical starts after Sunday and I plan on trying to work as hard at resting as I have in leading Missio Dei Fellowship to a new beginning.

Lord willing, I will be able to do a couple of posts during the break, but if not, I honestly don’t care.  I am hoping to sleep a lot, read a lot, walk around holding my wife’s hand a lot, and even go fishing with my father (but probably only just once).  It is with much anticipation that Kim and I will enter this time of sabbath.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on July 4, 2010, in Church, My Story and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

