Lazarus-like

It has been a long time since I have posted anything and it has not been by accident. Over the last year-plus I have been doing a lot of thinking, a lot of healing, and a lot of hurting. In that time I have continued to pastor my church and have seen many things come my way, both good and bad, hard and pleasant. But in all of it I have been continuing to try to understand what God has called me to be and do.

Now, understand, I know what He has called me to be on the macro level, but it is on the micro level that I have done a lot of thinking. I am over 50 now and I have seen my children grow into adulthood. In the last year I have married two of them. I have one daughter expecting our first grandchild. I have been to Arlington Cemetery to honor my father-in-law. I have hugged my wife many times and I have learned a new hobby, woodworking. I have traveled with a dear friend to Athens, Greece to meet with many Christian leaders and tell them of a way they might be better equipped. And in all of this I have thought, deeply. What does God call me to be?

I am seeing things more clearly now. I am thinking more maturely on what it looks like to be ‘missional’ and how that works itself out in real life. And in all of this I am seeing God’s hand in many subtle ways I never saw before. I watch the body of believer God has given me grow and change it is humbling to me. Whereas before I desired more and more, now I am becoming more content to simply pour into those who are before me the glories of my Lord.

All of this is to say, I am back but I am unsure of exactly what that looks like. I want to finish the story of how I ended up where I am. But I want to expand that so that the blog takes on my personality.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

