Spiritual Warfare

Here is a short glimpse into what I see as part of the spiritual battle in which every Christian is involved yet too often is ignorant of.  I remember preparing a sermon from a passage that is blatantly gospel-centered  (Philippians 2:1-11).  An easy sermon to prepare right?  Wrong!

My mind was tortured and fractured.  I had  a terrible time even concentrating for more than a minute or two.  I would type a few words and then find my mind going blank.  I stared at the screen, looked at the passage, talked out loud, prayed and nothing came.  I found that there was a growing tension in my hands so that I could not  even type consistently, with constant misspells.  Then there were the interruptions, not many, but they came only at the times when my mind seems clear and focused.

I love the gospel.  I know the gospel is the only means by which God has ordained sinners to be saved.  I rejoice in the truth that there is much salvific power in the proclamation of the gospel.  And I know that Satan despises it.  This battle takes place every time I am preparing an overtly evangelistic sermon.  This last time it just seemed much stronger.

I would suggest that the same is for any who is contemplating speaking to others about Jesus. 

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on March 7, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Satan loves to get us alone. My experience has been tha he will take one lie and run it over and over in my ear and try to destory all that is good about God with this one lie( like in the garden). For instnace God’s love, he doesn’t love you, you keep messing up and in everything you do, your not pleasing to Him and on and on it goes, until you can’t see any good. Like the song says, “you mix them all up and shove them in my face til my eyes can’t see any good”. Then it is a good time to repreach the gospel to yoursel, and recount all the good God has done for you, until he flees from you.

Leave a Reply

