God’s Bloody Place

I read a short post from Desiring God’s blog that caught my eye.  It is part of a series of observational posts by a missionary in an Asian Muslim country.  I have thoroughly enjoyed them all, but, as I said, this one caught my eye.  I will post it fully here since it is short:

I was studying Psalm 43 with a friend in Urdu the other day. We came to where it says in English, “I will go to the altar of God.”

As I read along in Urdu, I did not know the word for “altar,” so I asked my friend what it was. He didn’t know how to translate the word into English, but he gave the following English description: “It is God’s bloody place, where the throats of the animals are slit for sacrifice.”

Of course. It’s an altar.

Sometimes I think of an altar as the carpeted stairs and dais at the front of the church meetinghouse. But it’s not. It is a bloody place—a place of sacrifice and death.

 I need to remember that.

We need to remember that as well.  The cross is God’s ultimate bloody place.  It is where the Father exhausted His wrath against those Christ cam to redeem by pouring it upon His Son.  It is a bloody place where we come for the forgiveness of sin, for the declaration of justification, for the adoption as sons, for the hope of eternal life, for the entrance into the joy of our Master, and most certainly for the delight is seeing our Lord!  Not pretty and yet beautiful beyond all measure.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on March 8, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

