I Am Not Like This Guy

I am in the process of looking for a band saw for my shop and mentioned it on my Facebook page.  A young guy in my church was helping me look via Craigslist but sent me a link of something he thought was interesting.  I didn’t.  I found it annoying in a good way because it revealed once again how utterly non-mechanical I am.

As a Christian I am aware of a couple of things about humanity that come into play in times like this. The first is that all people carry the image of God and therefore I see a glimpse of this when I look at a person who creates beauty in art, or creates something from plywood.  Second, mankind is to have dominion and is to cultivate this creation, drawing out of it all that is possible.  And I would say that making a band saw out of 2X4’s, plywood and a couple of inner tubes qualifies as dominion.

That is as a Christians. Now as a human being who has no mental ability to do what this guy casually decided to do I find myself very conflicted. On one hand I just admire the guy and marvel at how his brain works. On the other hand he makes me sick.  Regardless, check the video out below or go to the site where you can see even more detail.  Amazing…

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on March 9, 2012, in What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

