Pastoral Prayer from Psalm 5

Our Father, it is with hearts that have great need that we come to you today.

Hearts that have sadness.
Hearts that have discouragement.
Hearts that have bitterness or envy.
Hearts that are under great temptation.

So we come today to you as our King and our God.

Oh Father, rise up and strengthen our hearts to trust you fully.
Let us dwell upon your great works and your mercy that is everlasting.
Let us learn to pray with a mind that is expectant, looking for your answer and knowing of your great love for your children.

My Lord and Maker, the words of this Psalm both encourages me and causes me to fear. It is a true statement that

you hate all who sin;
you abhor the murderer and the liar;
you shall destroy all who are not holy and righteous.

And with this in mind, I can only come to you because I have been cleansed by the blood of your own precious Son.

It is through His death and resurrection that any of us can come and let
our needs,
our joys,
our burdens,
and our desires be known to you.

And with that I am eternally grateful.

I give thanks for a salvation that is so complete and so full.
I give thanks that you loved me with an everlasting love that was before I was even created.
I give thanks that you perfectly draw people to yourself through your Son.
I give thanks that none who are saved by Jesus Christ shall be lost.
I give thanks that you have given us the Holy Spirit to guide us, to strengthen us, to teach us, to open our minds to your beauty and your greatness.

Father, we are all guilty sinners here today.

Let those who have trusted in your Son rejoices that they are forgiven and made anew.
And dear Father, will you I ask that you be pleased to bring those here today who are not saved to your Son.
That they would believe in Him and be saved.
That they would finally rest from their own efforts to save themselves and simply find rest and salvation at the Cross of Christ.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Bible Observations, Church and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

