Things Thrust upon Me

“The God who made the world and all things in it, since He is Lord of heaven and earth, does not dwell in temples made with hands; neither is He served by human hands, as though He needed anything, since He Himself gives to all life and breath and all things” (Act 17:24-25)

This passage is part of the famous sermon Paul gave on Mars Hill in Athens. In it he confronts the philosophers and religious leaders of several key facts, such as their ignorance regarding the person of God, how God receives worship, and how we live under His gaze. All of that drives the message to the key declaration that the time of ignorance is over, they need to repent.

I want to focus on just those two verses above though and consider them from a slightly different angle. They are densely packed, theological sardines-in-a-can if you will. But if I could give a basic sense of the words I would say that God doesn’t need us, but we not only need Him, but we live and have because of Him.

That is an interesting point because we tend to not think about ourselves that way. I am a white male, born in the United States in the 20th century.  I was not born in the 14th century in Europe while the plague ravaged the land. I was born into a home where Jesus was believed and loved, not to a prostitute in a Hindu temple of India. I was born with health and a sound mind.  I was not twisted and deformed either inside or out.  All sorts of things that define me about which I had nothing to do, they were thrust upon me.

My question is how long did it take me to realize that? And how long has it taken you?

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 5, 2012, in Bible Observations, Theology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was 39 when I started to understand God’s soveriegnty over me and my circumstances, specifically in Salvation, but then in so much more (like…Everything). He has been so very Good to me and I’m still learning.

Leave a Reply

