He Did Something with His Life

Kevin DeYoung writes a powerful memoir about his grandfather and how he approached life, not merely as one who grew up in the depression but also as a devout Christian.  I encourage you to go there and read it, it was pleasant and thoughtful. If you are simply too busy to read the article, I present to you my favorite part:

Within a few years, Grandpa owned and operated several service stations in town.  He was only twenty or twenty-one at the time—the age most “kids” today are still playing video games, sneaking off to parties, and trying to “find” themselves.  In talking with my Grandpa about his life, I asked whether he wrestled with God’s will, or remembered waiting for a sense of direction in taking so much initiative in life as a young man.  “No,” he said, “I felt like God was waiting for me to get involved.”  I wonder how many of us are just the opposite – waiting for God to tell us what to do rather than assuming He’s waiting for us to go out and be obedient.

As I read I found myself remembering visiting my parents in Idaho.  Dad is in his eighties and getting slower by the moment.  We had spent the day fishing and now were driving around the retirement neighborhood giving fish to the various widows and giving them a kind word.  As we drove around he introduced me to several people of special interest.  There was one old guy, not much to look at, who happened to be a master carpenter in his prime.  Then the other old guy who was bright eyed and mischievous in his smile who used to oversee the planes that fought forest fires all along the Western mountains.  Then there was the other guy who was the pistol shooting champion several years in running.  All of these and many more were people of interest, who had lived, dreamed and did.  I finished that day  humbled and I found myself asking what it was I was doing?

What are you doing? It is one thing for a non-Christian to waste a life, but it is a whole other thing for a Christian.  Our eyes are to be fixated on the new creation while we tread in this creation.  We are to remember that we are made in the image of God and exercise that to our fullest.  I came home and decided to learn how to be a woodworker.  How about you?

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 17, 2012, in Bible Observations, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Read the whole article. That whole generation was something. Great tribute to his g’pa from DeYoung. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

