The Beloved Verb

Verbs.  You love them, you hate them, or you ignore them, but they control how you communicate to the world and to yourself.  I am no grammarian by any stretch of the imagination but I do know that verbs are the engine that drives your ability to give meaning to your thoughts, dreams and convictions.  Take out verbs and you are lost, unable to say anything substantive. All that is left are blank stares and stammering tongues.

What is the point of this post?  Why am I droning on and on about verbs? Because I need to learn to use my verbs better and I bet many of you do to.  That is why I enjoyed immensely this article from the NYT.  Here is a great little quote from it,

Fundamentally, verbs fall into two classes: static (to be, to seem, to become) and dynamic (to whistle, to waffle, to wonder). (These two classes are sometimes called “passive” and “active,” and the former are also known as “linking” or “copulative” verbs.) Static verbs stand back, politely allowing nouns and adjectives to take center stage. Dynamic verbs thunder in from the wings, announcing an event, producing a spark, adding drama to an assembled group.

So, do you wish to be polite, standing in the shadows?  Or are you ready to thunder forth, pushing forward your conviction or delight? Regardless of your choice, go read the article, you will enjoy it, even the person who just said, “No, I don’t think so.”  (And I only had one passive verb in this entire post, a record for me!)

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 19, 2012, in What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Too tired to make an attempt at being clever…this is an excellent article. Though I’m poor at it, I do love the language. Thank you for sharing it Matt. I sincerely enjoy your Blog…..

    • I am glad you enjoy it J.P. I have fun doing it myself but I know I am rather eclectic for some folk’s tastes.

Leave a Reply

