Checking Hispanic

I don’t have a lot of time today due to needing to completely rewrite my sermon so I will make this one very brief.  What would you do in this situation?

My Hispanic surname is from my adoptive, now deceased, father. Since childhood I was told I was Hispanic. And unlike my blue-eyed, sandy-haired mother, I have dark hair and dark eyes and look Hispanic. This is the ethnicity that’s been checked off for me on all school and other forms. My parents always told me this might give me an edge for college admissions or some government jobs. I have recently found out I’m not Hispanic. My mother told me my biological father was Mediterranean, maybe Armenian. I make good grades and was accepted into a good college on my own merits. I’ve been offered a substantial financial scholarship available only for Hispanic students. Is it ethical to take it?

This is a good one to think about because we live in a time when truth is relative, well actually everything is relative.  We also live in a time where comfort reigns supreme over most everything and entitlements are just that, entitlements. What is your counsel to this young lady and why?  After you finish thinking it through go to the actual story and see what counsel she did receive.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 21, 2012, in Theology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sheesh. So, the real question is whether or not it’s okay to game the system.

  2. The reply to this person is astonishing—-astonishingly WRONG. I believe once we know the truth we must act on it appropriately from that time forward.

    • Well, I agree with you, but I am finding that more and more simply do not see it that way Nancy.

    • Nancy, thanks for dropping in! I just preached a sermon this morning at my church and one of the points I made was that it is the very nature of truth that it cannot accept ‘untruth.’ If you accept untruth, while claiming to hold to truth you are simply deceived. I found the article incredibly frustrating and yet a good example of how mankind can so easily rationalize most anything.

  3. My Wife thinks I’m a genius. Because I know the truth, would it be right to break her heart and destroy the little credibility I still have to prove her wrong? The answer is yes….I will continue to argue against her misconception with my daily life. Maybe someday she will be able to bear the reality of what “is”. The young woman in question is the product of a foolish and dishonest culture that will continue to deceive and reward itself into oblivion…..Sadly, she is unwilling or unable to see the foolishness of the question…………….

Leave a Reply

