What Happens when You Are More Arrogant than You Think You Are

Well it has been quite awhile since I continued with my story, you know, the one that is why I started this blog in the first place.  If you didn’t know about the story you can read it in this order here, here, here, here, and yes, even here.  But dear reader, be wise and start reading them from left to right.

I am still in Houston (no, not literally, in the telling of my story I am still in Houston) and still at a medium sized Southern Baptist Church that was not helping me or my girlfriend to grow. I was on my own and was devouring everything I could get my hands on by John MacArthur. At some point I thought it would be cool to get some training and heard he had a Bible Institute called Logos.  I inquired about doing it via mail.  They don’t do that, but the person who relied back to me mentioned that there was a former associate pastor who now pastored in my area. So I checked the church out and was so blessed to hear a biblical sermon for the first time in untold years. A man turned around when Kim and I first took a seat and immediately greeted us with a, “Hi, my name is Bruce I want to tell how God saved me and saved my marriage.” We were hooked and began attending from that day forward.

Kim and I started to have pre-marital counseling and the pastor started to disciple me.  Not anything real solid, but it was better than what I had up to that point, which was nothing. I was a starving man being given real food and I could not get enough of it.  Which was why I was stunned a few months later to come to church and have the elders announce that they had made the pastor resign because he was not accomplishing the things they desired from him.  One man, who was my Sunday School teacher, stood up and told the church he had been praying every day since the pastor came that God would remove him and he was thankful that day had come.  I was sick, stunned and mad.  How could the elders not see that he was a good teacher?  How could they say he wasn’t accomplishing the right things? Rubbish!  That is what it was, rubbish.

When I went home that day I called a couple of men I knew there and they were angry as well. We talked and decided we would get together with a few families and consider starting a new church and have the man pastor us there.  And that is what we did.  A little church was constituted in Houston, Texas in a child care building.

Oh, and did I mention that in all of this I showed incredible arrogance, folly, and am ashamed of ever starting that church?  No?  Well I was, but that part and the part where God’s providence works in and through idiots like me will have to wait for the next post on my story.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Church, My Story and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

