A Glimpse into The Henry Curse

One of my favorite online comics is dog house diaries. Consistently the comics are clever, but they also have an uncanny ability to tap into everyday life.  Sadly too often that life is my life.  Here is the comic for today that made me laugh and shake my head.

Sadly this is not the only experience that I dragged my family through on an almost daily basis.  When I arrive at a 4-way stop sign the individual to my right cannot seem to grasp what ‘right-of-way’ actually means. When I am entering the on-ramp to the freeway the person in front of me suddenly believes that the speed necessary to safely enter the stream of traffic is below 30 mph.Don’t ever get me talking about the Prius owners out there who believe that the fast lane is merely a suggestion and they never take that suggestion seriously, ever.

Never, NEVER be behind me in the grocery store for when we enter the checkout area there will be at least three people in front of me who simply have no clue what they are doing. One will definitely be the ‘check-writer-lady-with-a-purse-that-swallows-small-planets” who waits until all of her things are scanned before rummaging for the check book. She will then put the wallet back into that black hole and the act surprised that she needs to show her I.D. After that she will then realize she did not make a note in the registry and once again enter into that purse.  Finally, she will depart the line and I will step up to be scanned, and then the computer will shut down.  Every time.

You think the self-checkout lane is better, not if you are behind me. Why?  Because I will definitely be behind the person who has to look for each and every scan code and then carefully place it across the laser three to for times.  Then they will pick up another item that they just scanned and have to find the code again.  Think I am lying, I stood behind a man the other day who had a cart filled with individual bottles of water, at least fifty of them.  They were all the same and he had to look for the code every time.  I would have switched self-check out lanes but two were down and the other had a guy who was paying for his groceries in loose change, none of which were larger than a dime.  Oh, and his total bill was over forty dollars–the water bottle guy was the speed demon here.

I could go on but I am close to tears right now.  Time does not allow me to elucidate on the grey haired lady who has never identified the long pedal in her car or the guy in the buffet-style restaurant who picks up fried chicken like he is in a coma. Go to a hardware store and pick up an item?  Guaranteed to be the one thing that doesn’t have a code on it.  Sigh…..

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 27, 2012, in What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

