My Prayer in The Midst of A Hard Sermon Write

My Father,
I am frustrated and filled with dread.
I am discouraged and do not know which way to move.
Oh Father,
Open my eyes to see your glory.
Open my eyes to see your purpose.
Open my eyes to see your sufficiency.
Open my eyes because I do not see and I must.
Oh Father,
I want to help my flock know you better.
I desire that my heart grow warmer toward you.
I want us to pray rightly and well.
But,
The words I write are like dry straw in my mouth.
I find no rest for my soul, how can my flock find rest then?
I hate preaching sometimes Father, I truly hate it.
Is this what you mean to preach out of season?
Is this what it means to wrestle with you?
My tears are running freely Father, hear my prayer!
Oh Father,
I confess freely my dissatisfaction in my weakness
when I know I am to boast in my weakness.
Strengthen my hand and my heart to see you well,
that I might extol your glories and mercies that are everlasting.
Oh Father,
Cause me to sanctify Jesus as Lord in my heart.
Cause me to find rest in the Spirit.
Cause me to contemplate the Cross where your love is most supremely seen.
Cause me to consider the Church which Jesus has redeemed with His blood.
Cause me to see what you are passionate about.
And then,
Let me preach them so that your people might pray all the more.
 
Amen
 
 
 
 

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on May 5, 2012, in Prayers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Beautiful. Amen.

Leave a Reply

