This Is a Test of Dragon Naturally-Speaking

I just uploaded Dragon natural speaking 11.5. I’m hoping that it will work well in my sermon preparation as well as possibly my work on the blog. At this point I’m still training it so that it recognizes my voice and some of my unique speech patterns. Yet over the last hour of testing I’ve only had to correct it three times which is pretty impressive.

My mustache accidentally brushed against the microphone. It immediately asked me to please say that again, I chose to ignore it. So far the biggest challenge has been to add certain key punctuation marks, but that is something I can get used to. I am a verbal individual when it comes to thinking and working out ideas in my mind. But I hope this program will allow me to think out loud even if it is very random and put it down on paper until my until my ideas are fully fleshed out.

What was really cool was that it went through all of my documents so that it could find any words that were unique to me. As you can imagine since I am a pastor there are very unique terms that I use on a consistent basis that would not be normal in say the business world. It did not miss a beat when it spelled-out dispensationalism, eschatology, ecclesiology, apologetical methodology, Christos, fat loss( okay here is a problem since I said theos). But I’m sure I will be able to teach it even that.

All in all I like what they see and now those of you who read my blog know as well.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on May 23, 2012, in What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

