One Reason The Church Is Messed Up

Just came across this site somehow.  Its primary purpose is to provide movie clips that you incorporate into your sermon.  But there is also the amazing side benefit that you can get sermon outlines written for you that already incorporate some of the clips.  Wow!  How great is that!  Here is what they say:

WingClips Sermon Outlines will help you understand and analyze how each clip can illustrate spiritual truths to your group or congregation. Each Sermon Outline consists of a Main Idea, Application, Correlating Scriptures, and Alternative Idea(s). Please note that not all of our clips have Sermon Outlines available.

The only thing I see in that quote that I like is that not all clips have an outline.  Notice that the purpose of the outlines center not on the biblical text but upon the clip.  This is ear tickling in an outstandingly obvious way, but sadly it sells. I wanted to see more of what they do so I signed up for a free account.  When it was activated up pops flapping wings and a “Congratulations! You just got your wings!”  If you know me you can imagine my facial expression.  Glowering would be a good word to describe it.

I wanted to search by scripture not film clip and when I did I found it ironic that one book not represented at all was Song of Solomon.  If there would be one book I could find clips for easily it would be that one.  But then, they have offered me a position. Everything costs money and their one sample PDF of a sermon outline doesn’t actually work.  But reading the summaries of the sermon outlines made it sufficiently obvious that theology, a bloody cross, a sovereign Lord, or hell simply was not the driving force.  Sad.  Reminded me of a guy who sold my daughter a car who was excited about the Sunday School curriculum his church had for adults that was based off of The Simpsons.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Church and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Just when I thought I had heard everything you report a guy excited about The Simpsons Sunday School curriculum! Yikes!

Leave a Reply

