My Hatred of Numbers

Today is Memorial Day and it is unusually hot for this time of the year in Wisconsin. I hate hot days. My favorite seasons are autumn and spring, winter is a close second (or would that be third?), and summer is a very distant last. When it is hot I don’t like to do much at all and so I am not in much of a mood for a blog post. This is one I tend to reach into my bag of things that interest me to create a simple blog post which requires little sweat on my end.

With that in mind I will tell you about my love-hate relationship with numbers. I don’t really understand why I don’t get numbers (of course if I did understand why I don’t get numbers I guess I would then get numbers, or something like that). I do suspect part of it was because I had bad eyesight when I was in grammar school but I was assigned to the back of the class due to my last name somehow and so I never could see the board and I was terrified to admit it. Regardless, I don’t get numbers. But I find numbers fascinating and I stand in great envy of those who see their beauty and their value with great ease.  When somebody starts to talk about mathematics to me I find myself actually getting tense in my mind locking up; something that people seem to enjoy watching and with which I have learned to live.

That is why I like it when I find something that helps me understand numbers released how they work. It never sticks in my brain but I  gain a simple pleasure watching or hearing it. All that to say I found a fun little website (numberphile.com) is about numbers that I enjoyed greatly. Below is a video from that site explaining the number 60:

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on May 28, 2012, in What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. J.P. Randall

    Dude……………………..

  2. I second your view on numbers.

Leave a Reply

