Miscellaneous Monday on Tuesday

I didn’t feel like posting anything yesterday.  I could say that it was because it was a holiday here in America.  Or I could point out that it was nasty hot here and my body hates hot weather.  Or, finally I could say it was because I was busy playing golf for several hours with a friend.  But really it was simply because I forgot and when I did remember I decided I didn’t care.  Therefore, you get it today rather than yesterday.

I enjoyed this story for a very different reason that that given in the story itself.  I reflected on how it is so similar to those who receive hand outs from anyone, but especially the government.  It doesn’t cause them to better themselves and the numbers don’t eventually shrink, rather, the numbers grow.  But that just may be me.

Somewhat connected to my comments above, here is how one guy handled the death of his mother.  Such a classy guy.

Great photo spread of Joplin, MO one year later.

For those of you who think you should brush your teeth after eating, think again sucker!

I still have not decided if I like this or not; regardless it is pretty amazing.

When I look at a used, worn out tire in some alley all I see a tire.  One that needs to go away.  One that has incredibly limited value unless I was lost in the wilderness and found one that I could light on fire for the smoke.  Regardless, this guy apparently sees amazing art

Finally, if you are old enough to remember this Olympic moment you may have wondered about that “other guy.”

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Miscellaneous Monday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

