How Age Sometimes Helps Us Rethink Things

A compelling article:

Fifteen years ago I had it all figured out. Theology was perfect. My passions filled with the progressively growing belief that I was going to make a difference—a big difference. If people were in need, I could fix it . . . or at least direct them to the right way to fix it. I had all the answers. I was sanctified and I was being sanctified . . . fast (like Ferrari fast).

Fast forward fifteen years…

Things are much different now. I don’t have quite as much figured out. Passions are secure, but have been nuanced by the scars of my soul. Things I was so confident about before now make my spirit blush with frustration, salted with a bit of shame and bitterness. Fixing things is not as easy as it seemed back then. Complications have arisen. People are complicated. I am complicated.

Not long ago as I discussed spiritual growth with a discouraged Christian gal, I began to see my own plight in hers. She could not understand why she is not a “good” person. “I have been a Christian for thirty years and I feel as if I am less sanctified now than ever. I don’t understand. Maybe I am not even saved.”

Intrigued?  I was.  If so, go here to read more of a refreshingly honest post.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on July 15, 2012, in Church, Theology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great article Matt…This would be a good one to print and keep folded in one’s Bible as a ready reminder of the deceitful nature of our own hearts and the need for honesty in our own heads. Many years ago, some nameless brother told me the horrible truth that “we all” play mind-games with ourselves. One of those profound comments that weighed little at the time, but it took root in my thinking and has served me well to remember…..Thanks for sharing it with us………

    • I really liked it to JP, it was refreshingly honest, which you will find true of the rest of that blog. I have another article I am going to link too soon that involves the Lordship debate and urine.

Leave a Reply

