A Prayer of Intercession

My Father,
     hear my prayer.
 
My Father,
     I come through Jesus,
          my Redeemer,
          my Priest,
          my Righteousness,
          my Elder Brother,
          my Shepherd,
          and my Savior.
 
My Father,
     hear my prayer.
          I watch a friend walk on the edge of
               unbelief,
               hopelessness,
               bitterness,
               despair,
               and faithlessness.
 
My Father,
     he does not see Jesus rightly,
     he has lost his way
     and as a result he is wandering away
          from the faith once delivered to the Church;
          from those who love him and seek his good;
          from those who yearn to see him rest in the Gospel.
 
My Father,
     I know that people must walk through the valley of the shadow of death.
     I know that people must be threshed at times by Satan.
     I know that people must fall into diverse trials and troubles.
          But
     I also know that you are faithful to save.
     And that is what I am asking you to do.
 
My Father,
     Send your Spirit to this man,
          to revive a heart that is flagging,
          to lift up the countenance that has fallen,
          and to strengthen that which has weakened;
               That
     he might see that the sins that condemn him are on Jesus
 
My Father,
     I don’t really even know how to pray this
          so this will have to do.

Amen.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on July 16, 2012, in Prayers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

