What Do Urine And Salvation Have in Common?

Last night I went to pick  Zach, my three-year-old, up from his class at church. When I dropped him off, the sign-in sheet asked, “Any special instructions?” I hesitated, then left it blank. I suppose that this was a mistake. When I went to get him, I lifted him up and sat him on my hip only to quickly find out that he, at some point in the night, had failed to utilize his potty training abilities. The smell was terrible and I was embarrassed.

All of my kids have gone through this stage. Right when we think the training is over, they revert back a couple of months later. When it happened with Katelynn, the doctor told us that we have to just let her do it. He told us that she will be both annoyed and embarrassed by the feeling and smell. This will be enough to make her stop. Sure enough, that is what happened. Same thing with Kylee. Same thing with Will. They would have an accident and come in crying due to the uncomfortable feeling and smell. They recognized it and wanted it to change, even though they were not sure how to take care of the problem. But I don’t know what is going on with Zach. He just does not seem to care. It has been over a month and nothing has changed. It is like he does not recognize that there is urine all over him and the smell, somehow, does not bother him. He can go all day with wet pants and not think twice.

Where am I going with this? I’m getting there.

Here is a unique take on the Lordship debate.  I am not sure I like the idea that he chose to use his son as an example but he did and that is not my problem.  If you go on to read the article, and you should, don’t stumble over his decision. What I do like is how he uses that situation to illustrate a way through the debate that still rages in areas of the Church today regarding the nature of salvation.  In other words, where does repentance fit into salvation? Read the rest here.

UPDATE: fixed bad grammar in title.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Bible Observations, gospel, Theology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Well worth the read, thanks.

Leave a Reply

