A Song without A Name

A long time ago I heard D. A. Carson say that pastors should be song and hymn writers.  I took that to heart and wrote a few, but I lost them all (probably for good reason) along the way.  While cleaning out my desk the other day I came across one that I actually still like even though I really have no clue how to write a song.  Regardless, I present to you my song without a name.

Here we stand and can go no further.
We see a world so filled with death.
They cry aloud and do not know it;
Oh, our Father, empower our tongues!
 
Here we stand and can go no further.
we watch this sphere sink down in sin.
They stumble and fall by sin’s great weight;
Oh, sweet Jesus, may we speak of you!
 
Here we stand and can go no further.
We see these people walk as dead.
they have no life nor will to savor;
Oh, great Spirit, to them grant new life.

Chorus:

Pray my brothers! Sing and shout!
Tell of the risen savior who is Lord of all!
Pray my sisters! Sing and shout!
Tell of the risen Savior, whose death brings us life!

 

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on July 24, 2012, in Church, Theology, What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I really love this

Leave a Reply

