Hello Douala!

After a bit of a delay Philemon and I were able to board the final plane for Douala.  True to my experience there was a mother with a child in my seat and she did not want to move.  I found nearby an empty seat which I took, until Philemon informed me that it was his and he was not willing to share it.  So then I found another seat and once I was settled in the mother with the little child then informed me that I was in her seat and I needed to switch.  Which was not so bad after all because the baby then proceeded to start screaming and fighting.

There was a pleasant woman on my right and a rather large man on my left.  For the next 3,500 miles he and I had a calm, yet calculated, battle for arm rest superiority.  He eventually triumphed when I used the restroom.  But then in a stroke of luck he stretched his arms a bit and like lightening I was back into supremacy and did not lose it the rest of the flight.  It is the small things that make flights to Africa more pleasant.

The airport was what it always is, dirty and crazy.  We were immediately swarmed by the young men who want you to pay them to carry your bags.  We pushed past them but our carts were stuck in one place and they pounced and within 15 seconds all our bags were in the hands of the men.  I managed to grab my laptop case and fortunately they were honest and actually took them to the car.  I let Philemon figure out how to pay them.  I am that kind of guy.

We are staying at the Baptist Rest House so accommodations are sufficient.  Tomorrow we hit the classrooms hard and will stay that way for the rest of our time.  Pray for stamina on my end.  Below are just a couple of pictures to add ‘color’ to the post. The first is my room and the second is the lovely international airport in Douala.

 

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Theology, What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

