Paris

We are at Charles de Gaulle airport relaxing after the long flight over.  In a short bit we head down over Africa to land in Douala, Cameroon.  It is this second leg that is the hardest since they use older planes to go to Africa, there is that African smell that often floats through the air, and you are just plain tired.  I just read that France’s new government is going to tax the rich at 75%, I am sure that will fix everything that is broken over here.  Really.

Nice thing about this place though are the croissants and the coffee.  Just enjoyed a fresh croissant with a double espresso and looked over at Philemon and saw he was doing the same.  We are enjoying the comforts of Delta Sky Lounges this trip, it was worth the 90.00 investment.  I cannot wait to sit in a clean, air conditioned room in Douala when it is time to leave.  It certainly makes the drudgery of travel less so.

I did not get as much reading as I wanted since it was a red-eye flight.  Only got one-third of the way through the book on the Trinity that I was wanting to finish.  Perhaps on the way to Douala, perhaps not.  My eyes are still shutting on their own accord and there seems to be no way to stop it.  I am on my way for my 4th double espresso just to give myself a fighting chance.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Theology, What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Are you kidding….4th double espresso…I would be jumping and jittery for the next week and my eyes would be bugging out of my head!!! Art and I have been praying for travel mercies for you and Philemon. I pray that your teaching reaches their hearts and mind and that they will glorify the Lord in teaching others what you have taught them. (Hope that made sense)
    God Speed!!!

  2. Well, you might not after flying for 10 hours and knowing you have another 6-8 to go and have had only 2 hours of sleep.

    We do appreciate the prayers. Cameroon is an adventure because nothing ever happens easily. As Linda Yong told us the first time we were in country, “Everything is hard in Cameroon.” And she was right.

Leave a Reply

