Douala Update—Near The End

Tomorrow shall be the final day of teaching and then on Friday we will administer our exams and I will head to the airport for the long flight home.  The teaching has been long and mentally tiring but physically my body has handled it very well.  I was reminded yet again that in Cameroon everything is hard and this trip was no different.  The students in my class have been a challenge at times and my ability to read them and help them is a constant question is a constant question in my mind.  Philemon had to remind me yet again that I can only seek to be faithful and leave the rest to God.  He is right. I know he is right.  He knows that I know that he is right.  But it doesn’t change that constant nagging thought that somehow I am cheating my students.

I preached in a church this Sunday and was blessed to do so.  It is pastored by a man trained by Philemon and who planted this church as a result of a challenge that Philemon gave at a conference about seven years ago.  It is the same size, if not bigger, as Missio and is solid in its doctrine.  It is a shining example of what solid doctrine, faithfully taught, can do.  I administered the Lord’s Supper as well and discovered that whatever they call ‘wine’ is something else and the only word I can use to describe it is “nasty.”  But Baptists will be Baptists and so true wine shall have to wait until the New Heavens and Earth with Jesus.

The class I teach is a mix of Cameroonians and Central Africans, but since they speak French I could not tell who was what. However, today I found out that the class is evenly split.  The Central Africans tend to be much more softer spoken and willing to hear you out than the Cameroonians.  The reason why is not clear, but it is notable as you teach.

Philemon and I just finished a meeting with the president of the Cameroon Baptist Convention as well.  The topics were varied, but all of them tended to focus on the future and how best to honor God in it.  This man needs our prayers as he has a heavy load to bear and he needs the wisdom of Solomon to lead it. However, he was a former student of Philemon and has a solid theological footing to stand upon and that is a good beginning.  Things are starting to unwind for the evening, my eyes are getting sleepy and my mind is quite numb.  But at least you have an update.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on August 15, 2012, in Theology, What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

