Aurora, Chicago and Guns—A Little More Comment

When the shootings in Aurora, Colorado happened I watched and read the many reactions in the new and political scene.  Add to that the many comments on Facebook and such by Christians who spoke in such urgent ways, finding miracles, God’s intervention, and the need to “pray” for this situation.  What I found lacking, however, was anything substantial in meaning and purpose.  Hence my post.

Today I read that nineteen more people were shot in Chicago yesterday, thirteen of them in a 30 minute period (do I spell 30 here?  I am never sure) and of those thirteen, eight of them in a single incident.  This all too place in a city with stringent gun control laws in place.  How, then, does that happen?  Because people who want to kill people will break the lesser law of not owning and concealing an unregistered firearm.  This point is made time and time again so that is all I will say here.

What I find interesting though is that there are no breathless stories on Facebook speaking of the “horrors” of this sad day in Chicago.  No outcries for peace and more laws.  No statements of God’s miraculous intervention.  It is just news.  News that will pass us all by today while we go on living unless some person (no idea who that guy is) decides that this is to be the talk of the airwaves.

That is really all I have to say.  No real point, just the observation that we are more lemming-like than we like to admit.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on August 24, 2012, in What Tickles My Fancy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

