Mr. McGyver Here

While in Cameroon recently I was able to show of skills that previously have never been witnessed by humanity.  In Philemon’s classroom the ceiling fans decided to not work after the switch literally melted and burned up.  They brought in a fan that unfortunately did not work due to the wires were no longer attached to the actual plug.  That is where I come in.  I realized I actually knew how to fix the plug and went about using a pen and some little, tiny scoop thingy from my translator’s key chain to accomplish the task.  The whole time Philemon looked at me with a face that clearly had little hope.  In the end, I plugged it in and it worked perfectly.

In victory I jumped up with my arms raised, his class gave me a rousing ovation, and I declared that forever more I shall be known and Matthew the Electrician.  Then a couple days later we had the final class and that means a lot of ceremony where gifts are given to the teachers and letters are read and speeches are made.  It is an African thing, most certainly not an American thing.  However, when my letter of appreciation was read (in French) I was called the Reverend Doctor Matthew Henry.

At that moment I looked at Philemon and we both knew what was coming.  My new title is now and forever (until another letter is read to me in French) as Reverend Doctor Matthew Henry, the Electrician.  You may all bow now.  Or send checks.  Both are acceptable.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on August 26, 2012, in My Story, What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

