So….about This Election

Those of my readers who are U. S. citizens and actually care about politics should be aware that there is a major presidential race taking place. The two “biggies” are President Obama and Governor Romney.  Personally, I am not thrilled over either, but for different reasons.  I have friends who sit on both side of the aisle dividing the sandbox and those who claim to straddle the aisle.  Then, of course, there are those who play in a whole different sandbox and keep telling everyone to come to that one, it is better.

How do I approach this election?  I am voting for Romney, simple as that.  Not because I like all of his politics.  Most certainly I don’t agree with his religious views in the slightest, but then I was no fan of Reagan’s views either.  I hold to a conservative view of government that would make most Republicans blush, but I don’t jump over to third parties who agree with me more.  In the primaries I vote exactly for the guy I want.  In the main election I vote for the person who is closest to my position, even if that is far, far away.  And frankly, Romney is that guy. I am voting for Tommy Thompson too, even though I didn’t vote for him in the primaries either.

There is nothing I approve about our President’s performance and I certainly don’t want four more years of this.  I see huge issues rising on voter registration and I. D. laws.  Immigration and the Supreme Court are both hot issues.  And I see a growing resurgence of stronger conservatism in the Republican party that I believe will force Romney to stay further right than he would be comfortable on his own.  So that is my position.  Don’t like it?  I really don’t care, go vote as you wish.

However, I want to point to two posts that I thought were helpful to read. The first one is from 2008 that interacts with the idea of a third party vote.  The second one  was just posted today and interacts with the math of this election.  Both simply help cement what was already cemented in my mind.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on August 31, 2012, in Politics, What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. nice article , thought this was interesting this week …
    http://tinyurl.com/cbolbhp

  2. There’s little argument when there is so little to argue over. Though wearisome, it always seems to get back to voting for the man/party that you think will prolong the life of the nation, and thereby opportunity to freely proclaim the Gospel and live in a degree of peace. Gos still trumps free elections and hopes for a brighter American tomorrow. The deeper we’re dug in here, the harder the choices. Ther is no shortage of “expert opinion” concerning the Christian and Politics….there never has been. I long for the day when this world is forced off dead center by One who has bigger and better plans than the American Dream……

  3. I thought what they did leading up to Romney showing his personal side at the convention last night was brilliant. Don’t think he is a great speaker though.

  4. Yep, style over substance wins the American mind every time…..We’ve learned nothing.

  5. I love it that you’re my Pastor and Friend……Game over. Why didn’t you correct my earlier typos? 🙂

  6. No elections under the Caesars. No life, liberty, or the pursuit of anything other than despotism, sometimes benevolent, usually not and that’s the way it was for much of history and much it is for much of the world. Yet God who puts kings in power and removes them according to the pleasure of his will allows us to participate in selecting leaders. I’ve always seen that as a privilege and blessing. I’m not thrilled with Romney either but the other guy is a statist despot, maybe benevolent, but probably not.

Leave a Reply

