Some Thoughts on 2 Timothy 1:3-5

I have just started into this little book, one I had much anticipation from which to preach.  I leave for a trip to Ireland with my wife due to a gracious gift from our church of fifteen years so this Sunday I will not be in the pulpit.  However, when I arrive back I will have little time to prepare a sermon so I am doing the hard work of exegesis now.

I thank God, whom I serve with a clear conscience the way my forefathers did, as I constantly remember you in my prayers night and day,longing to see you, even as I recall your tears, so that I may be filled with joy.For I am mindful of the sincere faith within you, which first dwelt in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice, and I am sure that it is in you as well. (2 Timothy 1:3-5)

Like so many passages by Paul this is deceptively full and rather complex.  It is all one sentence in the Greek and the structure is rather complex.  Essentially Paul’s primary statement is, “I thank God because I remember your sincere faith.”  Everything else though helps paint a picture that introduces the entire book and serves as a way to prepare Timothy to remember who he is in Jesus Christ and what he is called to be.  The following is a few of my preparatory notes trying to sum up the exegesis:

This section is one of those places where the Apostle lays the ground work for much of what follows in the letter.  It is serious yet gentle.  It show loves and yet no compromising with the faith once delivered to God’s people.  It shows honest transparency and need that is refreshing.  And it shows a foundation of deep, God-centered theology from which it is written.  A dying man to the next man in line to live and to die for Jesus Christ. How can you not have tears and conviction?

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Bible Observations, Church, Theology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

