Do Not become Entangled in The Affairs of The Day

No soldier in active service entangles himself in the affairs of everyday life, so that he may please the one who enlisted him as a soldier.  2 Timothy 2:4

Such a straight-forward statement isn’t it?  The “soldier” in the context of the letter is those in service to the Lord, specifically Timothy but applicable to all.  Here is one of those little passages that appear to make a distinction between Christians, for some seem to be separate from the rest, functioning as soldiers.  It probably does not apply to all Christians, for many are involved in “everyday life” as their vocation.

But for Timothy the command is simple and direct.  Don’t lose sight of your task, your duty, and your calling.  You do not serve this Age, you do not serve man, and you do not serve multiple agendas.  You serve your Lord and that is all.  Your decision making is to be simply, “What does my Lord call me to do?”  Then you shut up and go do it.  You resist the constant pull to get involved in other things that do not have the work of a soldier in mind.

Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney speaks with the Rev. Billy Graham during a visit to the Graham cabin in Montreat, N.C., on Oct. 11, 2012. (credit: JIM WATSON/AFP/Getty Images)

All of this is written because of an article I came across a few weeks ago.  Read it, think it through and then think about it in light of the above passage.

There is simply no reason to remove Mormonism from a list of cults.  It is a cult, and if you want to stumble over that term then fine, I am happy to replace cult with “non-Christian.”  Both are true and frankly “non-Christian” is a better term anyhow.  The “Christ” they teach is not that of the Bible.  The “Father” they speak of is not the Father of the Bible.  The “salvation” they espouse is not that of the Scripture.  The reality of “sin” is not that of the Word of God.  The call to “holiness” is not connected to the Testimony of the Lord.  There is not one God, there are many gods.  We shall become gods, if we follow the rules. The entire bible and the essence of the Christian faith, meaning the gospel, is turned upside down and inside out.  And that is how it is.

You may want to vote for Romney, I am.  But if you are a Christian do me a favor and don’t pretend you are voting for a Christian and do not diminish the hellish doctrine that he espouses.  Do not become so entangled in this election and your love for the United States that you forget who it is you serve.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on October 27, 2012, in Bible Observations, Church, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Well said….and Thank you for the timely reminder…..JPR

  2. I read this right after a fb friend (not MDF) posted something that listed all the fine attributes of Anne Romney. As a couple it appears they are extremely generous and dedicated to their faith. I came away from that post very sad because the implication was “they are good Christians.” The person who posted it should know better, but maybe not. Very sad. I’m going to vote for Mitt. but also pray for him and that the Lord might be gracious to open his eyes to truth. Ironically, I just read somewhere where the President claimed to be born again. Confusing times we live in. Thanks for the post Matt.

  3. As someone watching the US election from oversees (Scotland) and as a Christian, I confess that when I read the BGEA had endorsed Romney, it saddened me greatly. I don’t know Romney and for all I know he could be the best thing since sliced bread…but there is no doubt in my mind the de-culting of Mormonism has been done in order to try to get Christian votes and I cannot support that. Its equally disappointing because I believe BG (I’ve followed his ministry most of my life) has said one of his regrets is getting too involved in politics. So this endorsement is strange. I’ve read it may be Franklin pulling the strings now but makes no difference, its still hugely disappointing.

    I love Billy and he has inspired me, I saw him preach when he came to Glasgow and Edinburgh. But in my opinion his organisation has put politics before faith, although they’d no doubt disagree.

    If God wills it for Romney to be elected, or indeed for Obama to get another term, then Christians should pray for the President whatever the outcome but its a step too far for me to have a cult declassified for the sake of votes. For me, its a compromise of faith because, if you declassify Mormonism as a cult, there is a clear implication that you are also giving a level of legitimacy to their views, or some of them. That, in turn, can only dilute the gospel. I know the BGEA won’t think of it that way, but its effectively what is being said now, whether they realise it or not.

    But we all have feet of clay and we all make mistakes. I’m just glad that God gave us all brains to use for ourselves. I’m sure most thinking Christians will still recognise Mormonism for the cult it is and pray for them to see Christ for the Messiah He truly is.

    Thanks for you post 🙂

    • You are welcome and thanks for such a well thought through comment. I would agree with your last point about “thinking” Christians. But the number of “non-thinking” abound here right now as the dumbing down of the Faith continues full speed.

Leave a Reply

