Stuff I Didn’t Know

I do some traveling now-a-days in various parts of the world.  The result is the opportunity to eat what the people of the area eat and try new things.  For some reason when I am in some roadside meat stand watching some sort of meat get cut

A typical sight along the road in Cameroon.  Usually set up on a grid of metal over a barrel of charcoal.  The spices are hot, but good

A typical sight along the road in Cameroon. Usually set up on a grid of metal over a barrel of charcoal. The spices are hot, but good

up or them slicing up the innards of a cow for me to eat it all seems fine at the time.  And it usually is, though no health codes were remotely followed in any manner.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In Greece I have enjoyed the head of a goat.  Surprisingly tender meat, the eye balls were nothing to talk about, and the effort was not worth the taste.  But I ate it all.  Brain, it turns out, is not as bad as one might think.

goat

 

ekwang_1Back in Cameroon I had the distinct horror of trying ekwang, which tastes and smells worse than it looks.  It is fermented something-or-other which I shall never eat again, it caused my lips to go numb.  The smell is that of a concentration of a hundred teenage locker rooms.

 

 

 

But all of this leads me to the actual point of this little post.  There is a lot I don’t know and I like to learn and learn broadly.  There does not need to be any purpose behind the learning, I just like to learn.  So in researching soups I came across this little gem.  Bat soup

bat soup

My hope and desire is that I am never found in Vietnam or Indonesia.  Yep, that pretty much sums it up.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 12, 2013, in What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I would have made a killing last summer with my Skunk soup in a garbage can recipe.

  2. Disgusting!!! I think I’m going to puke !!!!

Leave a Reply

