Miscellaneous Monday

I start of this week’s selection with a story first.  When I was in high school there was a turtle (or tortoise, didn’t really care at that time) in one of the biology classes.  It was a beautiful day and apparently I had nothing to do that day so I convinced my teacher to let me take the turtle outside.  A friend came with me and we quickly discovered that this thing liked dandelion flowers so to humor ourselves we picked on, tape it hanging off of the turtle’s head and it spent the next 1/2 hour vainly trying to eat it.  We found out that these things can move pretty fast and that high schoolers are idiots most of the time.  All of that because I saw this gif.

A friend posted this link on Facebook the other day.  I found it fascinating and therefore I present it to you as well.  Just try to get your head around all of the colors you are utterly unaware of and then rethink what you call “reality.”

A fun little article on how fake things become real.  Once again, what is real?

I give you this little gem only because the dog reminds me of my secretary’s dog.  Real guard dog there, yep, real tough guy.

And this animated gif is because my church is having a Memorial Day picnic and I think we should try to find out how many rubber bands it takes to accomplish such a serious and world-changing event.

This article is actually serious in nature.  And in fitting with the idea of what is reality it helps you understand how easily you and I can be fooled into thinking something is true that is not.  Food for thought.

And one more to keep your little grey cells in top-notch condition.  I think the key sentence in the whole thing was this: “The shift will create a significant new market for mental-health professionals who will now be able to apply for insurance reimbursement for patients who binge eat.”  Yeah, not so much about the patient as it is about the bank account of the doctor.

And lastly, this is a great video to watch.

Landings at San Diego Int Airport Nov 23, 2012 from Cy Kuckenbaker on Vimeo.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 15, 2013, in Miscellaneous Monday, What Tickles My Fancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kendal Barriere

    We are planning family centered games. Maybe we could throw the watermelon one in there for kicks. Lol.

Leave a Reply

