A Baby Is A Baby Is A Baby

I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth; Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; And in Your book were all written The days that were ordained for me, When as yet there was not one of them.
 (Psalm 139:14-16 NASB)

I came across a very interesting link the other day that I set aside for my Miscellaneous Monday post that I never got around to posting.  Sorry about that (not really).  I noticed, however, that there was a vague, undefined irritation that came over me as I looked at the pictures.  It was only after a few days of thinking that I realized what the problem was–abortion.

The Gosnell trial is moving along and more and more disturbing information is coming forth.  Babies are murdered and the nation shrugs.  The new issue out in talking-points-land is what do we do when a baby is born who was supposed to be dead?  Baby struggling in the water of a toilet?  No big deal.  Apparently if you are unsure what to do with parts of a murdered baby the answer is flush them. Of course, that should not even be discussed since the baby isn’t supposed to die by the hands of people at any stage of his life, but hey, I am small-minded that way.

When you look at the pictures of these various animals in utero (never knew this term was two words and no idea why WordPress doesn’t recognize utero as a word) you have to marvel.  Amazing photos that testify to the amazing work of our Creator whose wisdom and power is manifest in so many subtle ways.  But as you look at these baby animals, who are somehow recognized as animals, not just lumps of tissue, allow a bit of rage to circulate as well.  For none of these bear the image of their Maker, while countless millions of little image-beaters are cast into dumps and burn bags.

 God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.
(Genesis 1:27 NASB)

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on April 24, 2013, in Bible Observations, Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Re your statement that “Babies are murdered and the nation shrugs”:

    The part of the nation that doesn’t live in “pro-unplanned pregnancy land” understands that the Gosnell story is a straightforward criminal trial in which an unethical, unlicensed MD (in natal specialties) ran a butcher shop, even committed murder, exploiting the poor for profit.

    It’s a horror story to be sure, but it’s not the only thing on the news of importance. His crimes say absolutely nothing about how or why properly-run clinics should operate today, except that they are absolutely vital and necessary. It reminds me that most clinics used to be like his before Roe v Wade. (Yeah, I’m that old.) I sure don’t want to go back to those days.

    If WordPress doesn’t recognize “utero” as a word, how were you able to publish it? Perhaps you have confused vocabulary with the process of adding tags for search purposes. If you were to tag this post with the words “utero” or “in utero”, then they would be searchable. They are not common general topic words, so I’m not surprised no one has tagged their posts with it. The search function in WordPress isn’t like Google. It doesn’t scan for words in the body of an article, only for tags the authors choose to apply.

    Or maybe you were just being philosophic in an off-target manner of expression…

Leave a Reply

