Reflections on Brazil, Part 4

I hear the rain outside and I smile.  I think of the young student who prays each night that his old car will start and there is a deep affection for him as I remember my days of bad cars and much prayer.  I walked by his car tonight after class and heard it laboring to start.  I prayed, knowing he was praying to and with much joy I heard it start up.  Small thing, yet God is in the small things if we would just ask.  Then I think of the student who was missing today due to a kidney stone.  I am sad for the pain I know he is in and pray for relief.

I think of the class tonight where we discussed a lot of somewhat boring issues but then we settled on the plagues of Egypt and the sobering reality that God hardened the heart of Pharaoh.  I reflected with the class how we can discuss the sovereignty of God in cold words but it actually intersects our lives in radical ways that are painful and shocking at times.  I exhorted them to not shy from pursuing an understanding on the doctrine and to consider how it is revealed in our day-to-day lives.

Tomorrow Philemon and I will, Lord willing, go for a driving tour of Atibaia with my translator.  At times I think he should be teaching the class rather than me, but he is a kind man who faithfully translates for me.  I laugh when I think of the couple of times he asked if he might take over for a bit to teach since he is well versed on a specific key point of theology in the Pentateuch.  I am able to stand to the side and let him help the students understand.

All of this to say, my God is sovereign and kind to me.  I am tired and ready to go home.  I am truly encouraged with what I see God doing with these young men and ask that you pray with me that God shall impress upon each of them to own the text of the Scripture.  To exegete it carefully and faithfully.  To embrace what they see and learn.  And teach it to their people.  May God continue to pour His grace upon this nation.

With that said, I think I shall sit and relax before starting it all up again tomorrow.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Church, gospel, My Story, Theology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Pastoring across the continents..typical of the man I know you to be. I’m blessed each time you speak.

  2. Eu louvo a Deus por sua vida Professor Mattew Henry. Muito obrigado por investir em nossas vidas … que Deus abençoe grandemente sua família e ministério. Muito obrigado !!

    I praise God for his life Teacher Matthew Henry. Thank you for investing in our lives … God greatly bless your family and ministry. Thank you!

    Tiago Silva – EPPiba Atibaia

Leave a Reply

