The Deadly Beauty of The West

I am from the Western United States and there is something emotive when I see any of the Western mountains.  I camped in the mountains by rushing streams and rivers.  I backpacked in the High Sierras, seeing and drinking drops of pure melted snow which would form a massive river a few thousand feet below.  I raced my dirt bike through the desert and sat on the edge of bluffs just so I could hear absolutely nothing.

The West is beautiful and I just read an article that brings out that beauty while also reminding the reader that with the beauty comes danger.  I had never even heard of “The Wave” but now I would like to go there and try not to die.  Here are a series of pictures that help bring its beauty out.

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on July 25, 2013, in What Tickles My Fancy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

