The Confessions of A Former Mormon

I grew up in my formative years in Idaho, a bastion of Mormonism.  I remember vividly my father trying to find a solid church when we moved there and having no luck.  There were no Assemblies (meaning Plymouth Brethren) and the Baptist and E V Free churches were dead even to my seventh grade brain.  There were really only two choices, become a Mormon, which wasn’t happening or attend a Nazarene church, which is what we did.  Regardless, most of my friends were Mormons, I briefly dated a Mormon girl and I had a few friends in the Nazarene church leave and convert to Mormonism.  There were countless conversations with them and I was always fascinated by the poster that most of them had on a wall somewhere prominent in there house of the story in pictures of Joseph Smith and Moroni.

I don’t run into Mormons much anymore.  We had them stop by a few years ago and I was able to sit with them and my children and challenge their assertions and point them to Jesus.  Not their Jesus, but the true Jesus.  They left unconvinced but I have always thought about where they are now, did the Word of the Gospel take root? Or did Satan come and pluck it away?

Perhaps you have Mormons who you know or who are missionaries walking in your neighborhoods.  Are you prepared to engage them?  I found this article by Loren Franck to be very revealing as he confesses to lying frequently while he served his missionary term.  I encourage you to read it so that you might better understand what may come your way if you get a knock on your door one day.

He writes:

The Bible predicts a dreadful fate for liars. For instance, while banished on the island of Patmos, the Apostle John saw that “all liars shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death” (Revelation 21:8). Similarly, the beloved disciple writes, liars are doomed to an eternity outside of God’s presence (Revelation 22:15). Because Satan is the father of lies (John 8:44), lying is extremely serious sin.

As a full-time Mormon missionary from 1975 to 1977, I lied for the church countless times. Like my colleagues in the South Dakota-Rapid City Mission, which served the Dakotas and adjacent areas, I spoke truthfully about my background, but touted many Mormon teachings that contradict the Bible. After my mission ended, however, I examined these doctrines more closely. The harder I tried to reconcile the contradictions, the more evident they became. So, after extensive prayer and study, I resigned my church membership in 1984. Cheated and betrayed, I lacked spiritual life for the next 17 years. But God, knowing those who are His (John 10:14; 2 Timothy 2:19), drew me to Christ (John 6:44) and saved me in 2001. My spiritual emptiness was replaced by the abundant life only the Savior can give (John 10:10). And now, like millions of Christians worldwide, I have everlasting life through my faith in Him (John 3:36; 6:47).

I can’t remember all of my missionary lies. Some were small, others grandiose, but all were false and misleading. Here are ten I’ll never forget.

You can read the rest here . . . .

About Matt Henry

Middle-aged pastor trying to figure out how to be missional in his world. Loves his wife, his children, and his dog Bear. I have a love of woodworking even though woodworking doesn't always love me. The name is xagete but is pronounced exegete.

Posted on June 11, 2014, in Bible Observations, Church, Evangelism, gospel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What I find interesting is that the only thing Loren lists that could be called a lie is the first one, and that is only due to his looking back on something that he obviously doesn’t like.
    Everything else listed, though he may now disagree with it, is not a lie; unless he is going to claim that while on his mission he did not believe any of it, and then that is his problem, not the church’s.

    • I agree. The 1st item it’s technically also not a lie because the missionaries do not convert people, the holy spirit does. However, it is a gray line being that’s the only reason they are there.

    • You have the same thought I did. It seems that for the most part he was convinced that these talking points were true, but now sees them as lies in that they do not conform to the Christian faith.

Leave a Reply

